USWA Honors Jacksonville's Rich Wrestling Tradition... Rebrands Wrestle Bowl Tournament to Don C

Jacksonville has a rich pro wrestling legacy that spans over six decades, and for a lengthy portion of that time, the city was one of the main stops for the Championship Wrestling from Florida tour that ran through the state like wildfire, filling armories and arenas weekly to watch what was considered by many to be some of the best professional wrestling action in the United States.

One of the key components of the success of that era was Don Curtis, aka, The Buffalo Bomber, who began his pro wrestling career in 1951 after working out with legendary NWA World Champion, Lou Thesz while in college at the University of Buffalo where he was a standout amateur wrestler and football player.

In the subsequent decade, Curtis would go on to win numerous world and regional tag team championships in both the NWA and WWWF with partners such as Mark Lewin, Eddie Graham, Joe Scarpa and Abe Jacobs. Inside the ring, Don was known for his mastery of the sleeper hold and his fabulous flying dropkick.

Don moved his family to Jacksonville in the 1960's and was a well respected ambassador of the sport of wrestling inside and outside of the ring and spent his entire life working with underprivileged youth through various civic organizations like the Police Athletic League and the Florida Sheriffs Boys Ranch. After retiring from in ring action, Don promoted wrestling shows out of the old Coliseum and was also responsible for managing Wolfson Park and the Gator Bowl until he retired from the position in the early 90's.

Considered by many to be one of Jacksonville's favorite sons, it is with great honor that we at the United States Wrestling Alliance dedicate our third annual eight man, single elimination trophy tournament (aka Wrestle Bowl) to the memory of Mr. Curtis and his inspired service to our community until his passing in 2008.

Join us at the Maxwell Snyder Armory on Saturday, January 21st for the 2017 Don Curtis Memorial Cup featuring our strongest tournament field to date!

Participants in this year's single elimination tournament are:

- 2016 Wrestle Bowl champion, Martin Stone

- Mike Cruz

- Ethan Case

- Chance Champion

- Aaron Epic

- Jason Cade

- Jon Cruz

- Johnny Nixx

- with Jayson Falcone (as designated standby)

Stay tuned to @USWAJax on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for more information as it becomes available!

#DonCurtis #DonCurtisMemorialCup #DonCurtisCup #ProWrestling #USWAJax

#doncurtis #doncurtismemorialcup #doncurtiscup #jondavis #dagonbriggs #joncruz #chancechampion #mikecruz #ethancase #jaysonfalcone #martinstone #wrestlebowl #jacksonvillewrestling #indiewrestling #IndieWrestling #prowrestling #johnnynixx #jasoncade #aaronepic #snyderarmory #jacksonvillefl #jacksonvilleflorida